The Final Dream – Book 3 – The Celtic Dreams Trilogy

NEWLY PUBLISHED! On sale at the Winter Market at Pender Island Community Hall from 10am – 1pm on Saturdays. Get your copy now on,,

In October 1066 the Norman Duke William defeated the Saxon King of England, Harold Godwinson, at the Battle of Hastings. He became King William the First of England, known as William the Conqueror, and spent the next two years ruthlessly quashing the various insurrections that sprang up across the country, especially in the North-East. During these years he began to reward those knights who had been loyal to him by giving them ownership of large tracts of land to subdue. Some of his most ruthless and loyal knights were ceded lands that bordered the country of Wales, which had not been conquered since Roman times. Unable to resist the chance of acquiring more territory, some of these Norman knights invaded parts of Wales, massacred the unprepared citizens and considered themselves invincible. They were known as the Marcher Lords; among these were the Earls of Chester, Shrewsbury and Hereford, who were under the overall control of Earl Fitzosbern, who was the most powerful man in England after King William.

         The Welsh people fought back, relying on their leaders, their rugged mountains and their own courage. Lords Gwriad and Dafydd, the heroes of the previous novels Celtic Dreams of Glory and In the Ashes of a Dream, become inevitably involved in the battles. The story deals with their changing lives, the developing grip on Britain of William the Conqueror, and how Wales fought to maintain its independence in spite of overwhelming odds. 

Posted in My Novels | Leave a comment




Set in the turbulent times following the death of the Welsh King Gruffydd ap Llywelyn in 1063, the story follows the lives of the brothers Gwriad and Dafydd who, in the previous novel Celtic Dreams of Glory, had risen to become the King’s most important supporters. With their wives, Angharad and Teifryn, they try to re-establish their former lives in their castle in South West Wales. But, both men find it hard to settle down in this quiet back water after their exhilarating years of political and military involvement in the defence of Wales.

Running parallel with their story is that of the powerful Harold Godwinson, the Saxon Earl of Wessex, as he struggles to convince the childless King Edward of England that he, Harold, should be the next in line for the throne. After defeating the Welsh King, Harold has become a national hero and assumes he will automatically be king following the death of the sick monarch, but Edward favours Duke William of Normandy.

Gwriad and Dafydd join forces with other Welsh lords to attack Shrewesbury and destroy Harold’s palace near Chester in revenge for his invasion of Wales. Meanwhile, Angharad and Father Williams fight off an attack by Pictish raiders. During their retreat back to Wales the brothers have to defend themselves from a determined enemy, and Gwriad is seriously injured. His long recovery puts pressure on the whole family: Dafydd seeks the affection of the enigmatic Derryth, while Jon, Gwriad’s new squire, struggles with his identity.

Harold has to cope with his unruly brother, Tostig, while continuing his plotting to become King. He decides to make a lightning attack on Caerdydd and is forced to retreat. The unsuspecting brothers and their wives are making a journey to Caerdydd at this time, and get separated with tragic results.

Months later, Harold becomes King, and the brothers plan to kill him. Their hopeful plan fails, but not before they become involved in the Battle of Hastings. The unexpected ending is a satisfying conclusion to an heroic tale.

Posted in My Novels | Leave a comment



This is my fourth novel, which was published at the end of June 2013.

The story is set in Wales in pre-Norman times. This unusual and gripping novel deals with a time period that few writers have explored. In 1039 the Welsh defeated a huge Saxon army at the Battle of Rhyd-y-Groes. The Celtic forces were led by the charismatic Gruffyd ap Llewelyn, King of Powys and Gwynedd. The story follows the battles and personal triumphs of his gradual rise to become the first and only King of All Wales in 1057, and embraces the lives of his two greatest supporters, Gwriad and Dafydd, the sons of the famous General Cydweli.

The novel accurately portrays the poverty and aspirations of the Welsh people, the stark beauty of their landscape, and brings historical relevance to the rise and fall of Wales’ greatest King. Amid the plotting of the Welsh nobles and the bloody battles with Saxons, Gwriad and Dafydd remain loyal to their King. They marry unusual women, rise to great importance, but are unprepared for the sudden and awful reversal of their dreams.


Posted in My Novels | Tagged , | Leave a comment


Welcome to my  web/blog site.  I am a full-time author of historical fiction, short stories, and poems.

My previous novels include The Ancient Bloodlines Trilogy: Book 1The Power in the Dark, Book 2: Shadow of the Swords; Book 3: Keeper of the Grail. For more information on this trilogy click on the relevant page. I have published a collection of poems called Ebb Tide and two collections of short stories called One For Sorrow, Two For Joy, and Wolf Howl. To read about these publications click on the relevant pages.


In the Ashes of a Dream You can purchase this title as a book or an E-Book fromh the following sites:

Posted in General | Tagged , | 2 Comments